Saurabh Rao is new sugar commissioner of Maharashtra


Pune: In a major reshuffle, Saurabh Rao has been appointed as the Sugar Commissioner of Maharashtra replacing Shekhar Gaikwad. Gaikwad has been transferred as the Pune municipal commissioner.

The state government announced the transfer of 16 IAS officers in the state on Tuesday. Tukaram Mundhe has been appointed as municipal commissioner of Nagpur, the bastion of former Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

 To Listen to this News click on the play button.


  1. […] Shekhar Gaikwad, Maharashtra sugar commissioner, said the area under cultivation has gone up due to good rains. Sugarcane available for crushing is around 815.50 lakh tonnes and the total production is expected to touch 92.15 lakh tonne. Last year, 545 lakh tonne was crushed to produce 60 lakh tonne. Around 187 sugar mills are expected to participate in crushing this season. […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here