State government reconstitutes Sugarcane price Control Board


Reconstituting the Sugarcane Price Control Board, Maharashtra Government has appointed 10 non-government members on the Board chaired by Chief Secretary Sitaram Kunte.

It has the mandate to decide sugarcane price payable to the farmers, which shall be in addition to the Fair and Remunerative Price (FRP) decided by the central government under the provisions of the Sugarcane (Control) order, 1966, on revenue sharing basis.

According to the news report published in The Free Press Journal, out of these 10 members, five are farmers’ representatives, three are from the cooperative sugar factories and two from private sugar factories.
Three members representing the cooperative sugar mills include Prakash Awade, Director, Jawahar Cooperative sugar factory, Subhash Kalyankar, Director, Bhaurao Cooperative Sugar Factory and a senior NCP legislator who is chairman of Vitthalrao Shinde Cooperative Sugar Factory.
The representatives of the private sugar factories include Shankar Sawant, chairman, Dwarkadhish Cooperative Sugar Factory and Avinash Jadhav, managing director, Siddhi Sugar and Allied Industries.
The representatives of farmers include Balasaheb Pathare, Sanjay Mane, Shivaji Patil, Krishna Kokre and Pandit Sarang.

In addition, the Board also consists of secretaries of departments of finance, cooperation and agriculture as its members and Commissioner of Sugar as ex-officio member secretary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here