Sugar millers to try their luck in Maharashtra assembly election

Kolhapur: Sugar sector continues to rule the politics in Maharashtra with as many as 100 candidates associated with sugar mills in the state are contesting the polls. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is leading with fielding 30 candidates followed by BJP with 28 candidates. Shiv Sena has fielded 15 whereas Congress has given the ticket to 12 candidates. Eleven sugar barons are contesting independently. Eleven constituencies, including Islampur, Karmala, Pandharpur, Wai, Patan, Karveer, Rahuri, Kagal, Majalgaon and Kopargaon, will witness a tough fight between sugar barons.

The politics in Western Maharashtra revolves around cooperative sugar mills, and hardly any political party stays away from it. 54 candidates connected with sugar mills are in the fray here. In Marathwada region, 22 sugar millers from eight districts are trying their luck this time.

It is expected that rivals will rake up the issues including unpaid dues of sugarcane farmers. As sugarcane farmers are the major vote banks in the state, therefore millers will leave no stone unturned to woo them. Maharashtra will go for assembly poll on October 21, 2019, and the results would be declared on October 24.

To Listen to this News click on the play button.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here