Ten sugar millers from Solapur to contest assembly election

Solapur: Sugar sector plays a vital role in Maharashtra politics; therefore, ten millers associated with sugar mills in Solapur are contesting the Maharashtra assembly polls. These include four from NCP, three from Shiv Sena, two from BJP and one from Congress.

There is a straight fight between two millers in Pandharpur and Karmala. Surprisingly, none of the Mohite Patil family, which has a long-standing relationship with sugar mills, is contesting this time.

Rashmi Bagal of Karmala has joined Shiv Sena leaving NCP and has a hold on two sugar mills. Both are in bad condition. Against Bagal, NCP has fielded Sanjay Shinde who owns a private sugar mill in Madha taluka. In Pandharpur constituency, candidates Sudhakara Paricharak of BJP and Bharat Bhalake of NCP own sugar mills and both are pitted against each other.

In Barshi, Shiv Sena’s Dilip Sopal is associated with an Aryan sugar mill, which is not operational now and his opponent BJP’s Rajendra Raut does not have sugar mill but owns a milk processing project. BJP’s Subhash Deshmukh contesting on Solapur South constituency owns two mills. Akkalkot’s Congress candidate Siddharam Mhetere owns a private sugar mill.

NCP candidate from Madha, Babanrao Shinde’s family owns five sugar mills. Shiv Sena’s Dilip Mane contesting from Solapur centre constituency has two mills, and Uttam Jankar contesting from Malshiras on NCP ticket owns one sugar mill.

Many sugar mills have pending bills of cane farmers. Maharashtra will go for assembly poll on October 21, 2019, and the results would be declared on October 24.

To Listen to this News click on the play button.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here