Results of State Cane competition for the year 2020-21 declared


The results of the State Cane Competition for the year 2020-21 have been announced by the Department of Cane Development. Giving detailed information in this regard, the Commissioner, Cane and Sugar, Shri Sanjay R. Bhoosreddy said that 126 applications were received from all over the State for this competition in Ratoon, Early Plant, General Plant and Drip Irrigation categories. Crop cutting officers were nominated from State level for the crop cutting of competition fields. On the basis of the results obtained from Crop cutting officers, the farmers have been declared as winners.

Shri Bhoosreddy said that in early plant category, Subhash Chandra son of Shri Rampal Singh, Zone-Barkatpur, District-Bijnor, got first place by getting yield of 2634.00 quintal/hectareRajendri Devi w/o Jageshwar, Zone-Gularia, District- Lakhimpur-Kheri, got second position with a yield of 2473.00 and Achal Kumar s/o Udhaushyam, Zone-Gularia, District- Lakhimpur-Kheri got the third place by getting the yield of 2368.00 quital/hectare. In this competition, the first , second and third prize winner in early plant category will be given Rs.15,000, Rs.10,000 and Rs.7,500 respectively.

In Ratoon, General Plant and Drip Irrigation categories, due to less than minimum required number of participants & unsatisfactory yield levels of competitors, the committee has recommended to give only consolation prizes to the farmers, as per provisions laid down in rule number-28 of the State Cane Competition Rules. 

He also informed that under Ratoon category, Palwinder Singh of District Lakhimpur Kheri, Anil Chand Pandey of District Gonda and Pritam of Bijnor, and in General plant category, Ashwani of District Shamli and Amit Kumar of District Meerut will be given consolation prizes. In order to promote drip irrigation method, this year a new category of drip irrigation category has also been included for award in the State Cane Competition 2020-21. Under this category, Yogendra of district Shamli and Subodh of District Meerut will be given consolation awards.   

It is also noteworthy that in order to motivate the young cane farmers for sugarcane cultivation, in the upcoming State cane competition year 2021-22, a new cane competition category ‘Yuva Ganna Kisan’ has also been included, for which young cane farmers can submit their applications through the concerned council in the regional office of the cane department.

The Cane Commissioner also informed that the main objective of organizing the State cane Competition is to increase the per hectare yield of sugarcane in the sugar mill areas of the state, by inculcating healthy competitive spirit among the sugarcane farmers. During the meeting the Cane Commissioner/Chairman of State Cane Competition, has given instructions to the departmental officers for publicity of cane competitions on a large scale, so that all cane farmers can get timely information regarding this competition and more and more cane farmers can participate in the competition.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here