Uttar Pradesh: Results of State Cane competition 2021-22 declared


The results of the State Cane Competition for the year 2021-22 have been announced by the Department of Cane Development. Giving detailed information in this regard, Commissioner, Cane and Sugar, Shri Sanjay R. Bhoosreddy said that 180 applications were received from all over the State for this competition in Early Plant, Ratoon, General Plant, Drip Irrigation and Yuva Ganna Kisan categories. Crop cutting officers were nominated for the crop cutting of competitive fields. On the basis of the results obtained from Crop cutting officers, the farmers have been declared as winners in various categories.

Shri Bhoosreddy said that in Early plant category, Gurjit Singh s/o Sardul Singh Village-Bhauro Khurd, Zone-Pilibhit, District-Pilibhit got the first place by getting the yield of 2565.00 quintal/hectare whereas Balkumar s/o Bhagauti Prasad Village-Fardadiya, Zone-Belrayan, District-Lakhimpur- Kheri got 2427.60 quintal/hectare yield in this category and secured second place and Suraj Prasad s/o Khushi Ram, Village-Sighakhurd, Zone-Belranya, District- Lakhimpur Kheri got third place with a yield of 2389.00 quintal/hectare. In this competition, under early plant category, first prize winner will be given Rs.15,000, second winner will get Rs.10,000 and third will get Rs.7,500 and a appreciation certificate will also be given.

He informed that in Ratoon category, Parmal s/o Ramchandra, Village-Kudi Kamalpur, Zone-Mawana, District-Meerut has secured first place by getting the yield of 2090.25 quintal/hectare. Rakesh Sirohi s/o Ratanpal Singh Village-Etmadpur, Zone-Agota, District-Bulandshahr was placed second by getting a yield of 2060.00 quintal/hectare in Ratoon category and Satya Prakash s/o Munshi village-Salfa, Zone-Shamli, District-Shamli got the third position by getting the yield of 1770.12 quintal/hectare in this category. In this competition, the first prize winner under Ratoon category will be given Rs. 15,000, Rs.10,000 to the second and Rs.7,500 to the third and a appreciation certificate.

Due to less than minimum required number of participants the State committee of Cane Competition has recommended to give only consolation prizes to the farmers of the State Cane Competition In general plant, drip irrigation and Yuva Ganna Kisan category. Under general plant category, Gufran s/o Jamshed of district Hapur, under drip irrigation category, Ratanpal Singh s/o Mahendra Singh and Viresh s/o Dhoom Singh of district Meerut, and Manish s/o Baljeet of district Hapur got consolation prizes.

It is also noteworthy that ‘Yuva Ganna Kisan’ has also been included in the State Cane Competition to motivate the young sugarcane farmers for sugarcane cultivation. Under the Yuva Ganna Kisan category, it has been announced to give consolation prizes to Nadeem s/o Jafir of district-Muzaffarnagar and Nikunj Tyagi s/o Rakesh of district-Hapur for the year 2021-2022.

The Cane Commissioner also informed that the main objective of organizing the State Cane Competition is to increase the yield per hectare of sugarcane in the sugar mill areas of the State by inculcating healthy competitive spirit among the sugarcane farmers to create competition for increasing the yield. During the meeting the Cane Commissioner/Chairman of State Cane Competition, has given instructions to the departmental officers for publicity of cane competitions on a large scale, so that all cane farmers can get timely information regarding this competition and more and more cane farmers can participate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here