VSI announces best farmers’ awards


Pune: Vasantdada Sugar Institute (VSI) has announced the state level achievement awards for the sugarcane farmers for the crushing season 2019-20. The awards are presented to the farmers that have excelled in sugarcane production in different categories including yearly and one and half yearly cane production. Prakash Vilas Jadhav from Kolhapur district, late Suresh Krishna Salunkhe from Sangli district have won the awards for high cane production in yearly category and Ashok Hindurao Khot from Sangli district has won awards for another similar category.

These farmers will be felicitated on January 9 at Manjari in presence of former union agriculture minister Sharad Pawar. Chief minister Uddhav Thackeray will attend the programme through online telecast.

Shivajirao Deshmukh, Chief Director of the VSI said, the programme will be conducted online this year owing to the threat of coronavirus and we will announce the names of the winners in various categories on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here