Surjit Bhalla Resigns From Prime Minister’s Economic Advisory Council

New Delhi, Dec 11 (PTI) Eminent economist and columnist Surjit Bhalla Tuesday said he has resigned as part-time member of Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) on December 1.
“I resigned as part-time member of PMEAC on December 1,” Bhalla said in a tweet. A Prime Minister’s Office spokesman said that Bhalla’s resignation has been accepted by the Prime Minister.
“In his request he had stated that he would be joining some other organisation,” the spokesman said. EAC-PM is an independent body constituted to give advice on economic and related issues to the Government of India, specifically to the Prime Minister.
 The six member Council consists of eminent economists : Bibek Debroy (Chairman), Shri Ratan P Watal (member secretary), Rathin Roy (part-time member), Ashima Goyal (part-time member), and Shamika Ravi (part-time member).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here